Rethinking Google+

google+-logoI have to admit it. I was a little reluctant about Google+ at first. I did my due diligence with Twitter and had some good traffic going through my websites, blog, YouTube Channel and slideshare.

Felt I had the whole PLN/digital footprint thing going well enough. After all, I need some time offline, right?

But I see now that I need the Google+. It has things the others don’t. Circles, for one. I can divvy up who I share what with in the same platform/account. There are tonnes of great communities to join with events like the new Google Educators Group (GEG) for central Bangkok (and more being made as I type!).

And, you can see how much traffic you are producing which is not an obvious functionality in Twitter.

Final word.. If you are in the game you should add this to your connectivist corral.

About Sean Thompson

Sean has accepted a position as the Director of Technology at The Early Learning Centre, City School, in Bangkok. He is excited to be working with Giovanni Piazza and the rest of the staff to raise awareness of digital-age teaching and learning practice in this Reggio Emilia inspired environment. Sean is also an Apple Distinguished Educator, an International Baccalaureate Educator Network Workshop Leader and a Google Educator available for professional development at your school.
This entry was posted in Digital Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rethinking Google+

  1. Kim says:

    I use different platforms for different purposes. Twitter is very much life on speed, I share pedagogy and connect with people. Google+ is more centralized. I tap in to specific communities to ask questions. It’s a much cleaner platform due to the community set ups. In Twitter your timeline can seem overwhelming and out of control at times.

  2. Britt says:

    Your blog caught my eye because I am very concerned about privacy and Google+. The other day I was on my Google+ that is connected to my “work/school” Gmail account. There on the feed I found a You Tube video that I’d posted to my “personal” You Tube account connected to my “personal” Gmail account, which is not at all connected to my work account. This is where I post videos of my daughter learning to read and things of that nature, and I do not want these videos going to work’s Google+, but I didn’t think I’d have to mark them private or unlisted on You Tube. This is very confusing and concerning. Any thoughts?

  3. Hey Kim, I agree with you about how easily manageable G+ is compared to Twitter. It would need to bring something new to the table in order to be used.

    I am surprised by Britt’s comments about YouTube videos appearing across accounts. Have you liked or watched them perhaps while signed in to your school account in another tab? How were they categorised on your G+? This seems anomalous.

Leave a Reply

