Learning 2.014 Asia Reflection

L2-world-logos-7xWell I finally made it.

Learning 2.0the educational technology for learning conference that everyone wants to attend. I was lucky enough to have moved to the city where it was being held and further convince my new employer of the value of sending me. As the new Director of Technology I did my best to arrange for others at the school to be sent along as well. All who attended raved about the experience and vowed to help raise the technology game in their classes.

Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 9.08.46 AMHaving completed Jeff and Kim‘s Certificate of Educational Technology & Information Literacy (COETAIL) program I am already a big proponent of the collaborative, active learning style also employed at #learning2 events. Instead of a room full of people taking notes while one person stands at the front lecturing, the style of this event is about hands-on, collaborative learning. Yes, one person stands up front directing action and sharing good practice, but there are constant prompts for participant feedback and opportunities to jump right in and use the tools addressed. I often learn as much from peers in these sessions as from the person up front. In fact, another impressive point worthy of mention here is that these session leaders are not afraid to say, “Hey, does anyone know how to..?” proving that co-construction is just the way it works. Sorry for the self promotion here but this sits very well with a guy who runs an educational technology website with the tagline, “With technology we are al learners!”

cropped-COETAIL-RGB-1000pxWhile the leaders of sessions (pre-conference whole day, extended, one-hour workshop, “unconference” or cohort follow up) are expected to be knowledgeable experts of the topics addressed, much of the learning is participant driven. Everyone has something to share and, naturally as the conference has a technology focus, much of it is done so through cloud-based services making material readily available after the fact.

Unlike many other conferences, participants are able to direct there time to tailor it to their individual needs. In my case I was able to go to sessions focusing on areas I am working towards introducing in my own school as well as attend some sessions as brush-ups hopeful to get some takeaways on areas I personally present on.

Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 9.11.34 AMThere was an array of topics on offer from 3D Printing to Visual Note Taking, Design Thinking to Presentation Tips touching on segmentation theory and the dopamine effect. As my habit is to no longer take notes but produce webpages on my educational technology site I am able to not only go back to all the gems I gathered over the course of the conference but to further develop my personal learning network (PLN) and raise my site’s stats through sharing right from the start. (Sorry, some of the sessions were far to labour intensive for webpage creation!)

No reflection on an L2 would be complete without mentioning the networking. You won’t find a better opportunity. And what a place to catch up with like-minded educator friends you’ve been collecting over the years. Cohorts from COETAIL in Japan, Apple Distinguished Educators met in Bali, International Baccalaureate Educator Network co-inductees and previous co-presenters from Beijing… Talk about when worlds collide! Refreshing these relationships further helps keep your connectivist world vibrant and alive.

If there were something I would like to see improved it would be the ability to realize that, hey, I have made a mistake and this is the wrong session for me and move to something more valuable and suited to my situation. I understand the logistics of something like this must be challenging. Some participants, however, have a difficult time making it these conferences. Some have to foot the bill themselves which can be quite expensive coming from another country and staying in a hotel. Maximizing learning is imperative. I sat in on one session that, despite the skill and knowledge of the presenter, was just not right for me. I participated whole-heartedly and feel my contribution was helpful. I learned of a few new tools I may be able to use as well. I just wish I could have quietly left to join the other session I had considered and, having spoken with a colleague who attended it, would have benefitted from more.

Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 9.31.50 AMI have been to workshops all over the world for well over a decade now. I have learned from scores of incredible educators.  I have worked hard to collect accolades and special qualifications. I love presenting, networking and constantly developing myself professionally. Since I took the COETAIL course I have a renewed energy and vitality for my career. I need to get involved in this conference somehow. I will attend again but hope to contribute in any capacity from working a desk to offering workshops to giving an L2 Talk someday. (Forgive liberties taken in photo)

All told, the experience lived up to the hype. I am better off than when I went. The pink shirts (L2 support staff) were helpful and friendly at every turn though they must have been tired and a special kudos must go out to Clint Hamada for his superior efforts at helping me out on day one.

If you haven’t been to one of these you need to go.

I have embedded my COETAIL final video here for those who are considering the course (DO IT!) The original blog post is here.

About Sean Thompson

Sean has accepted a position as the Director of Technology at The Early Learning Centre, City School, in Bangkok. He is excited to be working with Giovanni Piazza and the rest of the staff to raise awareness of digital-age teaching and learning practice in this Reggio Emilia inspired environment. Sean is also an Apple Distinguished Educator, an International Baccalaureate Educator Network Workshop Leader and a Google Educator available for professional development at your school.
This entry was posted in Collaboration, Digital Learning, Producing, Publishing, Sharing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning 2.014 Asia Reflection

  1. Hi Sean, Thanks for the great write up for L2. Rest assured, your point about flexibility with moving in and out of sessions is something that we are working on for Learning2.015. @mbrookes #learning2 #l2advisory

Leave a Reply

