Yes, another Twitter tips blog post

Well as I sit down to type some new notes to add to the eBook, Deepen Your Digital Footprint: A Beginner to Intermediate Guide to Increasing Online Traffic and Web Presence, I think to myself, why not make this into a miniature blog post all by itself?

So I am.

Time your tweets
This may sound strange but actually with the nature of global sharing you might want to time your tweets so that they can be digested by your followers when they aren’t likely to be at work.

While I myself am here in Japan and I have a lot of followers on the other side of the world in North America I try timing my tweets (on the weekdays anyway) at 6 or 7 AM and 6 or 7 PM. This way they are more likely to be seen by a number of time zones sometime during the evening when hopefully people have a chance take a look.

You may find it surprising to see how quickly you get hits directly after tweeting and how they sort of trickle in afterwards.

Remember, people maybe following hundreds of others so tweet more than once if you want to be seen.

Cycle your Tweets
Resend popular tweets but not too often. You don’t want to bother people or be seen as a spammer but every now and again you might have something that was very popular and decide to cycle it again.

(#) Hashtag It
Find the # of people who are likely to be interested in what you are saying and # ’em. You will reach a much wider audience this way and perhaps even encourage a few more people to become interested followers. Great blog post about this topic here.

Go Mobile
Even during my move when I only had Internet access on my iPhone I still managed to use the WordPress mobile app, Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn to write new blog posts, update blog posts promote and achieve my highest viewed month on my blog ever at the same time getting over 500 views on the aforementioned eBook so don’t forget to use the power of your mobile devices.

Rename It
A good post may not sound interesting as a “title sound byte”. Rename it and run it up the flag pole again. See who salutes.

Following these guidelines I have recently more than doubled my best previous blogging month so it they are real-world tested and successful tips to help you reach out to more people.

Did you find this helpful? Tweet it! (Button below) Hey, follow this blog and me on Twitter. I’ll never tell you about my vacations and only tweet the best.
Good luck in your further efforts and branding yourself.

About Sean Thompson

Sean has accepted a position as the Director of Technology at The Early Learning Centre, City School, in Bangkok. He is excited to be working with Giovanni Piazza and the rest of the staff to raise awareness of digital-age teaching and learning practice in this Reggio Emilia inspired environment. Sean is also an Apple Distinguished Educator, an International Baccalaureate Educator Network Workshop Leader and a Google Educator available for professional development at your school.
This entry was posted in Digital Citizenship, New Media, Producing, Publishing, Sharing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes, another Twitter tips blog post

  1. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the
    structure of your blog? Its very well written; I
    love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more
    in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

    • Sean says:

      Hey thanks for the advice. If you take a closer look you’ll find that, depending on the post the layouts are considerably different.

Leave a Reply

