Synergy, Crowdsourcing & Creative Commons

Synergy
I am quite pleased with this. I managed to tie yet another COETAIL project to work. I further used the opportunity to better familiarize myself with my new MacBook Pro (Jury is still out for me on how much “better” it is in terms of ease of use compared to MS, though definitely prettier).

Crowdsourcing
I turned my first beta Keynote into a slideshare and put it up on this blog which is in turn placed on my Facebook account. I then heard back from a few friends/colleagues, one of whom suggested a need for some (not overpowering) music in the background (Thanks Shaun Brickman).

Creative Commons
I started a Google search for “motivational Mozart” which led me to other motivational videos on YouTube which in turn led me to the Therapeutic Field idea by Alison Tanaki which advertised her free for download music and open use with attribution!

Background
Well, I started at, as we all usually do I imagine, with a plan. A list of categories and words, really, about my ideal school:

Community
open
progressive
vibrant
eager
engaged

Philosophy & Curriculum
student-centered
real world
saavy
forward-thinking
rigorous
challenging
stimulating

Layout
open
made to share
bright
green
inviting

Resources
time
tools
people

Once I started looking through the photos provided by Doshisha for the project, however, these plans weren’t so much as even referenced. Inspired by the slideshare we viewed in course 3, ISB Impressions, I was off. I wanted to keep it simple and let the pictorial narrative tell ME the story as I made it. In the end, I made a video loyal to my original idea anyway. I suppose that just goes to show that my vision remains true to itself regardless of the pathway.

Take a look and tell me what you think, won’t you?

Doshisha International School Kyoto Promotional Video I will be adding links to the school’s website later but, for the purposes of my course work, this is my final edit.

About Sean Thompson

Sean has accepted a position as the Director of Technology at The Early Learning Centre, City School, in Bangkok. He is excited to be working with Giovanni Piazza and the rest of the staff to raise awareness of digital-age teaching and learning practice in this Reggio Emilia inspired environment. Sean is also an Apple Distinguished Educator, an International Baccalaureate Educator Network Workshop Leader and a Google Educator available for professional development at your school.
This entry was posted in Digital Learning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Synergy, Crowdsourcing & Creative Commons

  1. Machiko Romaine says:

    I liked the promotion video you created very much. The name ‘Doshisha’ has such a prestigious sound in Japanese Culture. I wonder if you are planning on adding a bit about the founder of Doshisha, Niijima Jo, who attended Amherst College in Massachusetts in early Meiji period. I think his vision for Doshisha was as written on one of the statutes: to educate the students with right mind based on the understanding of Christianity for the future leaders of Japan, since the Tokyo Imperial University (the original name of the school) was to produce bureaucrats for the country. You might want to include the word ‘leadership’ somewhere, unless I missed it. Good luck in Kyoto!

    • Sean says:

      Well thank you Machiko!

      Yes, there is quite a story to tell. I may well get students to tell it. This was my first effort. As they seem to like it, it will not be my last. Truth be told, the ending has been improved based on feedback already and will be uploaded to the school website/YouTube/anywhere else I ca think of to promote the school.

      I love making stuff to share with these new digital toys, er… tools!

  2. Looks like the type of school I would want to go to! And I love that you crowdsourced out the work. Really enjoyed watching the video! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

