Week 3

I always liked Bloom and his taxonomy. This recreated version has a layout that is easily adaptable to a new, tech friendly outlook. It further embraces many of the new information skills required for success in the digital age, just like good old Siemens recommends. The breakdown of skills and the focus on action makes for easy implementation as well. In the final analysis, this reading was more an outline of a planning tool than anything else for me. I don’t know that this short blurb actually constitutes a proper reflection post or not. I would add that I will use this new resource in mapping strategies for the development of skills in my classes.

As a more general reflection I would say that I may e starting to “get” Twitter (previously referred as “stupid twitter”). Having added all of the COETAIL cohorts and instructors to my tweet let, I have found inspiration and articles of interest. Time is still the thing though. I am not complaining, I have arranged my life to be as, what’s the proper word here… FULL as it presently is but I gave yet to add a comment to Brendan’s blog on his screen cast success or to read Garry’s recommended article. Once my e-mobile comes next week these things should become more manageable, and in the new year my schedule will also slow down. (As a result of this reflection I have decided to stop the boring repetition of this mantra now as well.) I still need to add some personally created video and screen casts up and am eager to work the SMART board into it while I have the chance as well.

In my own practice I have not been as active this past week. We had only a three day week due to public holidays and one of these was a half (thank you!) typhoon day. I did set up a link to a website on our school’s network for my Tuesday COETAIL reliever to oversee. The students know where to find it. We have also established the collaborative nature of use if new technology. The task is based on our social studies work examining the functions of government and taxation. The students are to create a town if their own in the free, online SimCity 2000. They are given free reign to learn how to use the program and then have to consider which services are most essential and explain their work considering such questions as:

How will services be paid for?
How will you decide who pays?
Who will manage the funds?
Who will oversee the running if each service/facility?

I feel this use of certain basic technological skills and the level of comfort the students are gaining in terms of their abilities to collaborate is a good example of the use of technology for learning as opposed to an “ICT” lesson. It passes the higher order thinking test in terms of the use of new media to create something (though clearly through the application of media created by a third party) and realizes classic Bloom’s higher order thinking skills in their evaluation of what they have produced and in their reflections and peer evaluations after the fact.

About Sean Thompson

Sean has accepted a position as the Director of Technology at The Early Learning Centre, City School, in Bangkok. He is excited to be working with Giovanni Piazza and the rest of the staff to raise awareness of digital-age teaching and learning practice in this Reggio Emilia inspired environment. Sean is also an Apple Distinguished Educator, an International Baccalaureate Educator Network Workshop Leader and a Google Educator available for professional development at your school.
This entry was posted in Digital Learning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 3

  1. Adam says:

    Thanks for this post. I am really curious about what reservations, if any, you have about the use of SimCity 2000. Are there things that you lose in teaching this lesson using this tool versus the method you used before? What are the advantages with the new approach in contrast to teaching the same content off-line?

Leave a Reply

