Supporting Students with the MYP Design Cycle

Design CycleUse of the design cycle is the focus of MYP Technology classes.

It can be difficult for students accustomed to a final assessment project style (as is partially the case in the PYP) to grasp that the manner in which they create products or solutions is more important to the course than the actual products or solutions themselves.

The design cycle is quite involved with a number of sections, each with its own purpose. To support students I made this slideshare to break it down into steps for them.

I also put together this page where I add new insights and direction as inspiration hits.

Every part of the design cycle builds upon the previous so the Latin finis origine pendant, The end hangs upon the beginning, is extremely applicable. I made this poster to illustrate the idea to my class on how the solutions to the problems as identified in their design specifications then can be used to form some of their test questions which become fundamental to their final Evaluate section of the cycle.

Design Cycle FIRE Image-ifiesThe reason for this focus on the design cycle I tell my students is simplicity itself. We use it for every unit for one good reason. Getting in the habit of addressing problems in this way is simply engendering good habits that will stick with you for the rest of your lives. And after all, as Picasso said, you need to:

picasso break rules

About Sean

Always looking to improve my practice of ICT integration, learn and share new things, I am presently involved in a course of study for a post-graduate certificate of educational technology and information literacy. My studies have further illustrated to me the importance of new media in education and the necessity of empowering students with the skills to both use them effectively and to learn how to better direct their own learning. It has further underlined for me how inextricably interwoven effective use of new media and development of collaborative skills are becoming. Having worked with students from K – 12 for years I have a real respect for the necessity of an articulated integration curriculum from a whole school standpoint. I am excited to announce my new position at Doshisha International School, Kyoto. To learn more about me please feel free to view my Hub, the website where I am currently updating my online creations.
This entry was posted in IB, Producing, Publishing, Sharing, Profundities, Project Based Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Supporting Students with the MYP Design Cycle

  1. Julie says:

    Great presentation – thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

